Deployment Sucks.

Image

You always hear the seasoned Army wives talk about how once the deployment beings, that’s when the ‘you know what’ hits the fan.  I’ve always considered myself a pretty tough cookie so I was never too concerned (and to be honest I just chalked it up to dramatics).  I don’t know what it is; maybe the universe senses vulnerability, or maybe I just underestimated the role that my fiancé played in the day-to-day household operations, but either way we are almost 7-months in and I’m counting down the days until this deployment is a thing of the past.  

Beginning with surprise double root canals almost immediately after his departure, learning how to manage our combined budget, getting into a car accident and totaling his truck and then going through the car buying process, planning a wedding 500 miles away, a spring cockroach infestation, getting ripped off by a mechanic, to the latest discovery of a mouse that has taken up residence under our stairs, I think you could say it’s hit the fan.

In the grand scheme of things I know it could be so much worse, and for that I am thankful for my problems.  What is it they say, “If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back”.  Bugs and mice in the house mean there is a roof over my head, car problems tell me I have means of transportation, root canals mean I still have teeth, and the fact that there’s almost 7 months under our belt means there’s only 3 more and for that I am very grateful.  

I guess the point of all this whining is to remind myself and all of the other MilSO’s out there that may be hanging on to that last shred of sanity, “Always remember, you’re braver than you believe, stronger than you seem, and smarter than you think”.

XOXO (and Hooah!),

-A

4 thoughts on “Deployment Sucks.

  1. I didn’t want to believe that everything would hit the fan when DH deployed last year but the week after he left the brakes failed on the car! And that was only the beginning. The quote you talk about really is true.

  2. “If we all threw our problems in a pile and saw everyone else’s, we’d grab ours back”. …..so true. I love the Army Wife “community” that helps me through the **** hitting the fan. But, we all have problems. Some more extreme than the others. It’s always nice to know your not alone in your situation.

Leave a Reply

