Oprah’s Favorite Things 2013

First Starbucks red cups and now the big reveal of Oprah’s annual Favorite Things list-the holidays are among us!

Typically I am 100% on board with the big O and her collection of ‘hand picked’ goodies for the holiday season, but I must say that the 2013 list left much to be desired and to be frank, left me a bit bored.  Among the 60 items that Oprah describes as “the ultimate, ultimate list of my Favorite Things”, are the token Ugg boot inclusion (the Genevieve Boot), and gadgets for her tech-saavy audience like the Kindle Paperwhite, Beats by Dre headphones, and the Qooq Touch Kitchen Tablet (essentially an iPad for your kitchen?).

Image

Of course there were some items that I did enjoy, like the Himalayan Salt Shotglasses (tequila, anyone?), the witty labeled Modern House Red Wine, mouth watering Truffle Popcorn Kit, and the classical nude tones of the Butter London High Tea Collection.

Image

Don’t get me wrong, I am a huge Oprah fan and I love the luxurious items typically found on this list, however I can’t seem to wrap my head around a chocolate nativity scene or 77oz., $225 candle.  Maybe I’m a Grinch, or maybe the 2012 list was just especially fabulous, I’m not sure.  Either way I’d love to hear what you think!  Are you excited about the big reveal or has this list fallen short?

Happy Holidays!

XOXO,

A

Photos: Gregor Halenda

Leave a Reply

